Cambodia has announced to remove its travel ban on passengers coming from or transiting through 10 African countries imposed in late last month following the outbreak of Omicron COVID-19 variant.

The travel ban will be replaced by additional procedures to the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for the management of incoming passengers at international airports in Cambodia in conformity with the New Normal, according to a press release of the Ministry of Health issued this evening.

Those who have travel history to the 10 African countries, including Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Angola, and Zambia, or other countries “of concern” about two weeks prior to their travel to Cambodia are required to present a medical certificate certifying a negative PCR COVID-19 test not longer than 72 hours prior to their arrival in Cambodia, and conduct a rapid test.

If their test result is negative, a seven-day quarantine is needed for fully vaccinated travellers, but a 14-day quarantine for those who have not fully vaccinated against the pandemic.

For foreign passengers, they can conduct the quarantine at hotel or at a centre designated by the Ministry of Health or local authorities, but they need to deposit US$1,000 for COVID-19 service charges.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press

Related Post


Monthly Archives